Women’s Wrestling



Women’s¬†wrestling is a combat sport which confronts two female competitors who try to gain control over their opponent through the use of throws, locks, leg trips, and clinching techniques. Similarly to Freestyle wrestling, all holds can involve the legs in order to ultimately pin the the opponent’s shoulders to the mat. If a wrestler manages to do so, victory by “fall” is proclaimed, otherwise, the match pursues until the end of the regular time and the winner is decided according to the technical points scored.

Women’s wrestling was introduced to the programme of the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens with 4 weight categories following the reduction of the male categories’ number.


Women’s Wrestling Weight and Age Categories

Cadets-16 and 17 years of age

36kgs-38kgs, 40kgs, 43kgs, 46kgs, 49kgs, 52kgs, 56kgs, 60kgs, 65kgs, 70kgs.

Junior- 18 and 19 years of age

40kgs-44kgs, 48kgs 51kgs, 55kgs, 59kgs, 63kgs, 67kgs, 72kgs

Seniors 20+

48kgs, 53kgs, 55kgs, 58kgs, 60kgs, 63kgs, 69kgs, 75kgs.